The Department of Computing & Information Systems was established as one of the four Departments of the Faculty of Applied Sciences when the Wayamba University was established in 1999, by transforming the then Department of Industrial Management & Computer Studies of the Wayamba Campus of the Rajarata university into two Departments. When the department was established, there was only one permanent lecturer, a computer laboratory with about 20 computers and two instructors, which was later converted to the Computer Unit at Kuliyapitiya Premises.

Today the Department is functioning on its own resources, and contributes to the academic programmes of the Faculty by offering Computing and Information Systems (CMIS) as a major subject for the B.Sc. (General) Degree and the B.Sc. (Joint Major) Degree programmes. A B.Sc. (Special) Degree programme was also started from 2017 to cater to the current needs of the industry as well as to ensure a path towards academia.  As of this year, the Department has seven permanent lecturers and three computer laboratories with 100 networked computers to conduct practical classes and examinations. Measures are also underway to expand the laboratory facilities to meet requirements of the increased student intakes.

Contact Information CMIS



Department of Computing & Information Systems,
Wayamba University of Sri Lanka,
Sri Lanka.

+(94) 37 2282759
Fax +(94) 37 2283622
E-mail  cmis@wyb.ac.lk
QR Code