Wayamba University of Sri Lanka possesses high quality research base covering a wide spectrum of academic disciplines engaging in research at national and inter-national levels. The University strongly supports research activities of its academics, including postgraduate research degrees.

The Senate Research & Higher Degrees Committee (SRHDC) is responsible to the Senate of WUSL for the development and management of strategic policies in meeting matters concerning Research & higher degrees.

The SRHDC looks for way to raise the profile of academics of the University, better ways of serving its academic community and encouraging them to actively participate in research. In this connection, the University awards research grants to permanent academic staff, annual awards are given for outstanding researchers to appreciate their contribution to the development of the research culture in the University.

The University confers postgraduate degrees by research, which includes M.Phil. and Ph.D., in respective disciplines, to those who successfully complete postgraduate research leading to such degrees under the supervision of senior academics in the Faculties. The SRHDC deliberates on the candidature of postgraduate research students and is responsible for maintaining appropriate academic standards in respect of postgraduate research.

The Chairman of SRHDC

Prof. Kapila Yakandawala

Professor & Chair of Horticulture and Landscape Gardening
Department of Horticulture and Landscape Gardening
Faculty of Agriculture & Plantation Management
Wayamba University of Sri Lanka,
Makandura, Gonawila (NWP)
Office: +94 3122 99704
Mobile: +94 718129794
Email: chairsrhdc@wyb.ac.lk, kapilay@wyb.ac.lk
The Secretory of SRHDC

Ms. E.M.S.S.K. Ekanayake

Assistant Registrar

B.Sc. (Insurance & Valuation) (WUSL), MBA (WUSL)

Email: aracademic@wyb.ac.lk
Mobile: +94 37 228 4774