One of the essential duties of a university academic is to involve in research & development activities, and in light of this, universities must encourage and provide suitable environment for its academics to carry out research. Apart from that, the outputs and outcomes of research, including the publications generated from so are considered very important in many aspects, including the ranking of that particular university. The purpose of WURA is to encourage and appreciate our academic community in this respect. 

Types of Awards

There are two types of awards, namely:

  1. Wayamba University Most Outstanding Researcher Award – 20XX
  2. Wayamba University Most Outstanding Young Researcher Award – 20XX

Gold Medal and a Certificate will be awarded for the winner of each award.

All other applicants who obtain the minimum marks laid out in the marking scheme below (see, Section 4) shall be awarded a Certificate of Merit.

Applications are called for the University Research Awards from the permanent academic staff of the WUSL.

Wayamba University Most Outstanding Researcher Award-2021

Wayamba University Most Outstanding Young Researcher Award-2021

Awards will be given at the Wayamba University Research Congress (WURC) – 2022, which will be held on 9th December 2022.

Deadline for submission of applications: 4.00 pm on 10th October 2022

Soft copies of the Completed Applications along with Supplementary documents should be
emailed to the Academic Division, Wayamba University of Sri Lanka on or before the

Please send your Application to:

Calling for Application